Who’s leading the betting in the Women’s Cricket World Cup?

The 2022 Women’s Cricket World Cup gets underway on Saturday, March 5, as England hope to defend the title they won in 2017. Here is everything you need to know about the upcoming tournament.

How does the Women’s Cricket World Cup work?

Eight teams will compete for the Women’s Cricket World Cup, which this year is being staged in New Zealand. England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and the West Indies will play each other once in a round robin format, with the top four sides advancing to the semi-finals.

The winners of those semi-finals will then meet at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch on 3 April to attempt to be crowned World champions. This will be the third time New Zealand has hosted the tournament having previously staged the competition in 1982 and 2000.

Six venues will be used overall, which are the Hagley Oval in Christchurch, Eden Park in Auckland, the Bay Oval at Mount Maunganui, Seddon Park in Hamilton, the Basin Reserve in Wellington, and the University Oval in Dunedin.

Who are favourites to win the Women’s Cricket World Cup?

Australia goes into the Women’s Cricket World Cup as the 4/5 favourites with 888sport. The Southern Stars recently thrashed England in their multi-format Ashes series, with Meg Lanning’s side winning each of the three ODIs. Lanning has also been installed as the 7/1 favourite to be the tournament’s top batsperson.

Those three victories mean that Australia have now won 29 of their last 30 ODIs, with only India beating them during that run. India have been made a 9/1 chance with 888sport to win the World Cup for the first time, but it is current title holders, England, who are joint second favourites, along with hosts, New Zealand, at 9/2.

Can England claim back-to-back world titles?

England will be aiming to successfully defend the 50-over Cricket World Cup having won the title in 2017.

Team captain, Heather Knight, who is 9/1 with 888sport to be the competitions top batsperson, will lead her team into battle once again, as they begin their campaign in New Zealand on 5 March and face a tough start against favourites, Australia. They then face the West Indies and South Africa before a rematch of the 2017 final against India. Knight’s side conclude the group phase with fixtures against New Zealand, Pakistan, and Bangladesh, and will hope they can advance to the semi-finals, then ultimately, the final in Christchurch on April 3.

Here are England’s fixtures:

  • Australia in Hamilton – 1am UK time, March 5
  • West Indies in Dunedin – 10pm UK time, March 8
  • South Africa in Mount Maunganui – 10pm UK time, March 14
  • India in Mount Maunganui – 1am UK time, March 16
  • New Zealand in Auckland – 10pm UK time, March 19
  • Pakistan in Christchurch – 1am UK time, March 24
  • Bangladesh in Wellington – 10pm UK time, March 26

Who are the most successful nations in the Women’s Cricket World Cup?

Australia is the most successful country in the Women’s Cricket World Cup, having lifted the trophy on six separate occasions. They first won the tournament in 1978, before claiming the title again in 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005, and 2013.

England have won the World Cup four times. They won the first ever trophy in 1973, but then had a 20 year wait before winning the competition again in 1993. England then won it for a third time in 2009, before winning the last World Cup in 2017.

The only other nation to win the Women’s Cricket World Cup are New Zealand, who won it in 2000.  

michaela casivo uk
Michaela Power - Author

Casino & Sports Expert, Tester & Writer

Michaela has been writing for Casivo since January 2020, and knows all there is to know about online casinos. She’s the brain behind a lot of our great content, including casino reviews and latest news.