Aussies on top in Ashes betting

England have been able to travel to Australia to compete for the Ashes in Cricket’s oldest and most revered rivalry. The first ball of the five-Test series will be bowled at the Gabba in Brisbane on December 8, with England fans hoping to see a first Ashes win in Australia since 2010/11. But how likely is that?

Who are favourites to win the Ashes?

The ashesAustralia currently hold the famous Ashes urn having won it with a 4-0 home series victory in 2017/18. They then retained it a year later thanks to a 2-2 draw in England in 2019, which was the first drawn series since 1972. Australia are the strong favourites with William Hill to win the series again at odds of 1/3. For the Aussies to complete a 5-0 whitewash, as they did in 2013/14, William Hill are offering odds of 13/2, however, the favourite score line is a 3-1 Australia win which has been priced at 11/2. 

England’s last series success over Australia was on home soil in 2015, but you have to go back more than a decade for their last victory Down Under when they won 3-1 in 2010/11. However, they have failed to win a single Test in Australia since, losing nine out of their last 10 games and have been priced at 4/1 with William Hill to complete a series win this time.

Should there be a repeat 2-2 score line from when these sides last met, you can get odds of 6/1 for that. 

The schedule for the 2021/22 Ashes

The 2021/22 Ashes series will once again see a five-Test format, but there is a noticeable change to the usual schedule. The series will traditionally open again in Brisbane, but the final Test will not be in Sydney this time, instead Perth’s WACA ground will host a potential series decider for the first time since 1994/95.

The schedule also includes a day-night Test in Adelaide, the same venue which hosted a day-night match in the 2017/18 Ashes. Here is how the series has been planned:

  • Dec 8-12 – First Ashes Test, The Gabba, Brisbane (Start time 00:01 GMT)
  • Dec 16-20 – Second Ashes Test, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (Start time 04:00 GMT)
  • Dec 26-30 – Third Ashes Test, The MCG, Melbourne (Start time 23:30 GMT)
  • Jan 5-9 – Fourth Ashes Test, The SCG, Sydney (Start time 23:30 GMT)
  • Jan 14-18 – Fifth Ashes Test, The WACA, Perth (Start time 02:30 GMT)

The Ashes squads

Joe Root will again captain the England side, his third Ashes series as skipper, but he is yet to win one. Along with his fellow selectors, he has picked an 18-man England squad to travel to Australia, which has been boosted by the late addition of all-rounder, Ben Stokes. 

Australia had originally named a 15-man squad for the first two Tests of the series, which included six of the players who helped them win the recent T20 World Cup. However, since then, captain Tim Paine has been forced to quit his role and take a break from the game following revelations of historical misconduct. Pat Cummins has been installed as the skipper and he will be the first fast bowler to captain Australia since 1956. 

Provisional Australia squad: Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

England squad: Joe Root, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Last 10 Ashes results

Home advantage has certainly been key in the Ashes series of late with Australia being dominant at home, winning nine of the last ten Tests Down Under. 

  • 2019 – England 2-2 Australia (1 draw)
  • 2017/18 – Australia 4-0 England (1 draw)
  • 2015 – England 3-2 Australia
  • 2013/14 – Australia 5-0 England
  • 2013 – England 3-0 Australia (2 draws)
  • 2010/11 – Australia 1-3 England (1 draw)
  • 2009 – England 2-1 Australia (2 draws)
  • 2006/07 – Australia 5-0 England
  • 2005 – England 2-1 Australia (2 draws)
  • 2002/03 – Australia 4-1 England
michaela casivo uk
Michaela Power - Author

Casino & Sports Expert, Tester & Writer

Michaela has been writing for Casivo since January 2020, and knows all there is to know about online casinos. She’s the brain behind a lot of our great content, including casino reviews and latest news.